// IP Marketing video - START// IP Marketing video - END

Election of Armenian parliament deputy speakers pushed back one day

Election of Armenian parliament deputy speakers pushed back one day

PanARMENIAN.Net - The Armenian National Assembly is set to hold votes on candidates nominated for the posts of deputy speakers on Friday, May 19, instead of Thursday, nominee from the ruling Republican Party Eduard Sharmazanov said, while closing the first session.

Under the new constitution, the parliament will have three deputy speakers, with Sharmazanov and former justice minister Arpine Hovhannisyan nominated from RPA, and Mikayel Melkumyan from Tsarukyan bloc.

Ara Babloyan from RPA was earlier elected the speaker of the National Assembly.

The parliament voted by secret ballot with 88 in favor and 12 opposed, catapulting Babloyan ahead of his only rival, Edmon Marukyan from the opposition YELQ bloc.

 Top stories
“It forces authorities to be more flexible and see the gaps, and I welcome any constructive statements,” Harutyunyan said.
U.S. ambassador to Armenia met on Friday, June 23 Raffi Hovannisian, the founding leader of the opposition Heritage party.
The two opposition blocs represented in the parliament - Yelk and Tsarukyan - voted against the government program.
Eduard Sharmazanov said Armenia is a parliamentary republic, and the people have elected the Republican Party.
Partner news