May 6, 2021 - 12:41 AMT
Armenia will start demanding vaccine certificates from travelers

Tourists will be required to show vaccine certificates when traveling to Armenia, according to a government decision approved on Thursday, May 6, CivilNet reports.

The document submitted by the Health Ministry says a lot of countries, including Iceland, Israel, Estonia, Poland, Lithuania, San Marino, Georgia, Romania, Slovenia, Norway, Montenegro, have already started to demand such certificates from travelers.

Many others like Denmark, Sweden, Hungary, Greece, Spain and Serbia are going to introduce the measure in the near future, the document added.

It was reported in late April that a yearlong ban on all but the most essential travel from the United States, and presumably other countries, to the European Union may be lifted soon, just in time for summer vacation. In an interview with The New York Times, Ursula von der Leyen, president of the European Commission, said she would put forward a policy proposal for the union’s 27 member states to accept visitors who have received E.U.-approved vaccines, paving the way for a reopening of travel.