May 18, 2023 - 16:20 AMT
Armenia among 6 countries to not join Ukraine damage register declaration

Armenia and five other countries have not signed a Council of Europe declaration to establish an international damage register for Ukraine.

The Heads of State of the Council of Europe adopted the Reykjavík Declaration at their meeting in Reykjavík on Wednesday, May 17.

Support for Ukraine, a resolution in favour of Ukrainian children, and the commitment of the states to human rights, democracy and the rule of law were the main focus of the Declaration, Iceland Monitor reports.

The Declaration commits the Member States to fully implementing the decisions of the European Court of Human Rights. The European Council Summit has officially ended and Latvians have now taken over the presidency of the Council of Europe.